Cardinal Sports
Hilltop Monitor
Campus Map
Media Resources
The Edge Radio

 Recent News...
Jewell debaters finish first in parliamentary debate tournament
Contact: Rob Eisele816-415-7574
December 3, 2008

The William Jewell College Debate Squad finished their fall semester by winning First Place Parliamentary Debate Sweepstakes at two back-to-back tournaments hosted by McKendree University in Lebanon, Ill., November 14-16.

Jewell’s four teams dominated both tournaments by winning the most preliminary rounds of any squad competing. Nine colleges and universities competed at the tournament, including Loyola University of Chicago, Washington University of St. Louis and Washburn University of Topeka, Kan. Sophomore political science major Tim Brooks, of Springfield, Mo., and senior Oxbridge Institutions and Policy major Jake Williams, of Bellevue, Neb., won the first tournament, defeating Washburn University in the final round. “Brooks and Williams have been one round away from the elimination rounds at every tournament they have competed at this year, so it was nice to see them break that barrier and win the tournament,” said Director of Debate Dr. Gina Lane.

Nichole Latimer, a first-year Oxbridge major from Yankton, S.D., and Andrew Potter, a first-year political science major from Buehler, Kan., defeated a team from McKendree University in the octofinals before finishing as quarter-finalists.

Two other Jewell teams, Kyle Hendricks, a sophomore political science major from Gladstone, Mo., and Paige Oster (Springfield, Mo.), a double major in Oxbridge Institutions and Policy and political science, as well as first-year Oxbridge major David Dingess (Denver, Colo.), and sophomore rhetoric and political communication major Samantha Stultz (Overland Park, Kan.) qualified for the elimination rounds and finished as octofinalists.

In the second tournament, first-year Andrew Potter received top speaker of the tournament, beating out 59 other debaters for this honor. “It is quite remarkable that a first-year debater with limited college experience would win such an honor,” said Lane. “There were several other strong debaters competing, and I am very proud of Andrew.”

Hendricks and Oster finished as semifinalists, defeating teams from Washburn University and McKendree University in the elimination round bracket. Two Jewell teams, Dingess and Potter and Latimer and Stultz, finished as quarterfinalists. Oster was third overall speaker for the tournament.

October 24-25 Jewell debaters competed at Creighton University in Omaha, Neb. Nichole Latimer received 7th overall speaker award in the open division. Two Jewell teams qualified for the elimination rounds, including quarterfinalists Hendricks and Oster, and octofinalists Dingess and Latimer.

William Jewell debaters are currently ranked 22nd in the nation out of 181 competing Parliamentary Debate Squads from colleges and universities across the nation.

William Jewell College is committed to bringing together talented students and gifted faculty mentors within a vibrant community sparked by a rigorous and intentional liberal arts curriculum. A full range of personal and professional development experiences are presented by the selective national liberal arts college’s location within the Kansas City metroplex of more than 1.5 million.

Go to News Page




Achieve Magazine

 Faculty Experts Guide
 An easy reference directory of 
 Jewell Faculty and their areas
 of expertise.


 Media Contact
 Cara Dahlor
 Director of Communication






 Academics  |  Admissions  |  Distinctives  |  Campus Life  |  Athletics  |  Alumni & Friends
News & Publications  |  Important Dates  |  Contact Us

500 College Hill - Liberty, MO 64068
Office of Admission: 1-888-2-JEWELL
AllofE Solutions